American Academy of Forensic Sciences
Regional Award

Past Recipients

2014 Meiling Robinson
2010 Laura Silva
2006 Samantha Evans
2001 Kevin Andera
1996 Dean Gialamas
1991 Jennifer Mihalovich
1987 Eric Parsons
1985 David M. Sugiyama

In 1981, the American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS) established an award to acknowledge, recognize, and encourage the younger/newer members of the profession who contribute significantly to the forensic sciences. This is the most prestigious of the Academy's awards for regional association members. It is offered on a rotating basis to two or three regional associations each year. AAFS will notify the regional associations (CAC) in the Summer of the year before the award is granted. After notification, AAFS requires the name of the recipient by September. The award is always presented at the Academy's annual meeting.

The criterion for selection of a recipient is left to the discretion of CAC Board of Directors as is the selection of the award winner. Selection will be made, in part, on the basis of a recent presentation of an outstanding scientific paper at a CAC seminar or presenting at the AAFS annual meeting. The award consists of the following:

  1. Paid Registration to the upcoming AAFS Annual Meeting.
  2. A plaque presented at an AAFS Awards Ceremony.
  3. Invitations to several receptions, including the President's Reception.