

AMERICAN ACADEMY OF FORENSIC SCIENCES

410 North 21st Street • Colorado Springs • CO 80904 • 719/636-1100 • Fax 719/636-1993

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE January 10, 2014

Contacts:

Barry K. Logan, PhD, DABFT AAFS President barry.logan@nmslabs.com Cell: (267) 615-3516

Adrienne Thiele-Dallagiacoma athiele@ulicreative.com Office: (303) 971-0134 Cell: (303) 829-9868 Jeanine Spellman jspellman@ulicreative.com Office: (303) 971-0134 Cell: (303) 335-8082

American Academy of Forensic Sciences Applauds Broad Representation of Practitioners and Stakeholders on Newly Named National Commission on Forensic Science

COLORADO SPRINGS, CO – Dr. Barry K. Logan, president of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences, issued the following statement today:

The American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS) is very pleased to see the broad representation of forensic science practitioners, and the direct stakeholders from the criminal justice system on the new National Commission of Forensic Science (NCSF).

Approximately half the members of the Commission, and one of the vice chairs, are members of the AAFS across many of our eleven sections. This will help ensure community input and a balanced perspective on the professional practice of forensic science from practitioners and people who live with the daily challenges of managing and executing forensic science casework, educating and training forensic scientists for the future practice of forensic science, and acting on the reports and findings that forensic laboratories produce. Additionally, the engagement of those AAFS members on the Commission with their peers and colleagues in AAFS will help ensure communication of their activities goals, and recommendations throughout the forensic science community.

We are also acutely aware that the creation of the NCSF is just half of the process agreed to by the Department of Justice and Department of Commerce last year. We are looking forward to implementation through the National institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) of the process for improving standards setting for forensic science practice. This process is where much of the science will take place, and where the key recommendations on which the NCSF will be able to act will come from. Much of the opportunity for quality improvement, standardization, advancements in science, and more uniform justice will come from the work of the technical groups NIST is in the process of organizing. We look forward to opportunities for AAFS membership to participate this process also.

###

The American Academy of Forensic Science (AAFS) is the premier professional organization representing practitioners and stakeholders in forensic science in the United States. The AAFS has more than 6,600 members in eleven disciplines and promotes education, training and research in forensic science and supports quality, ethical practice, scholarship and forensic science education through its various activities, committees and affiliates. For more information visit www.aafs.org.

American Academy of Forensic Sciences members noted in red.

Suzanne Bell, Ph.D., Associate Professor, West Virginia University; Frederick Bieber, Ph.D., Medical Geneticist, Brigham and Women's Hospital and Associate Professor of Pathology, Harvard Medical School; **Thomas Cech, Ph.D.**, Distinguished Professor, University of Colorado, Boulder; Cecelia Crouse, Ph.D., Director, Palm Beach County Sheriff's Office Crime Laboratory; Gregory Czarnopys, Deputy Assistant Director, Forensic Services, Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives; M. Bonner Denton, Ph.D., Professor, University of Arizona; Vincent Di Maio, M.D., Consultant in Forensic Pathology; Troy Duster, Ph.D., Chancellor's Professor and Senior Fellow, Warren Institute on Law and Social Policy, University of California, Berkeley; Jules Epstein, Associate Professor of Law, Widener University; Stephen Fienberg, Ph.D., Maurice Falk University Professor of Statistics and Social Science, Carnegie Mellon University; Andrea Ferreira-Gonzalez, Ph.D., Professor of Pathology and Director Molecular Diagnostics Laboratory, Virginia Commonwealth University; John Fudenberg, Assistant Coroner, Office of the Coroner/Medical Examiner, Clark County, Nevada; S. James Gates, Jr., Ph.D., University System Regents Professor and John S. Toll Professor of Physics, University of Maryland; Dean Gialamas, Crime Laboratory Director, Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department, Scientific Services Bureau; Paul Giannelli, Distinguished University Professor and Albert J Weatherhead III and Richard W. Weatherhead Professor of Law, Case Western Reserve University; Hon. Barbara Hervey, Judge, Texas Court of Criminal Appeals; Susan Howley, Public Policy Director, National Center for Victims of Crime; Ted Hunt, Chief Trial Attorney, Jackson County Prosecuting Attorney's Office, Kansas City, Missouri; Linda Jackson, Director, Virginia Department of Forensic Science; John Kacavas, United States Attorney, District of New Hampshire; Pamela King, Assistant State Public Defender, Minnesota State Public Defender Office; Marc LeBeau, Ph.D., Senior Forensic Scientist, Scientific Analysis Section, Federal Bureau of Investigation; Julia Leighton, General Counsel, Public Defender Service, District of Columbia; Hon. Bridget Mary McCormack, Justice, Michigan Supreme Court; Peter Neufeld, Co-Director, Innocence Project, Benjamin Cardozo School of Law; Phil Pulaski, Chief of Detectives, New York City Police Department; Hon. Jed Rakoff, Senior United States District Judge, Southern District of New York; Matthew Redle, Sheridan County and Prosecuting Attorney, Sheridan, Wyoming; Michael "Jeff" Salyards, Ph.D., Executive Director, Defense Forensic Science Center, Department of the Army; and Ryant Washington, Sheriff, Fluvanna County Sherriff's Office, Fluvanna, Virginia.